Our Attorneys

Michael Andrew Haggard


Michael Andrew Haggard, a Coral Gables, Florida native, distinguished himself in 25 trials working as an Assistant Public Defender before turning to personal injury law. After a year of practicing with a leading Miami personal injury firm, he joined The Haggard Law Firm, where he handles a broad array of cases, concentrating on pool drowning accidents, negligent security, wrongful death, unsafe premises, products liability, and insurance coverage matters.

In 2001, Haggard was named partner of the firm and gained a significant amount of national exposure in 2003 after winning two back-to-back record setting $100 million verdicts in cases dealing with pool accidents involving children. Haggard obtained his third $100 million verdict in November 2007 in a negligent security case considered to be the largest jury verdict award in history for that genre of case law. 

He also obtained the first verdict in the nation dealing with the issue of cell phone distraction when he and his father, Wm. Andrew Haggard, won a $21 million verdict for Alicia Bustos in December of 2001.



  • Florida State University, Bachelor of Science (1992) 

-         Dean’s List Scholar

-         Interfraternity Council, President (1991-1992)

-         Greek Man of the Year (1992)

-         Order of the Omega and Omicron Delta Kappa

  • University of Miami School of Law (J.D. 1995)

-         Book Award, “Advanced Litigation Skills”


  • Partner, The Haggard Law Firm (2001-Present)
  • Associate, Haggard & Parks, P.A. (1997-2001)
  • Associate, Don Russo, P.A.(1997)
  • Assistant Public Defender, Dade County Public Defender’s Office, Domestic Violence, DUI and Crimes Division (1995-1996)


  • State Bar of Florida (1996)
  • United States District Court, Southern District of Florida (1997)


  • Member, Florida Justice Association

-         President (2009-2010)

-         Secretary (2006-2007)

-         Board of Directors and Executive Committee (1999-2005)

-         Recipient, Shoe Leather Award

-         Recipient, Golden Eagle Award

-         Recipient, Silver Eagle Award

  • Trustee, Florida Lawyers Action Group
  • Chair, Miami-Dade Candidate Task Force (2001-2004)
  • Member, Miami-Dade Justice Association

-         President (2002)

-         President-Elect (2001)

-         Treasurer (2000)

-         Secretary (1999)

-         Director (1997-1999)

  • Member, American Association for Justice (Inadequate Security Section)
  • Member, Million-Dollar Advocates Forum
  • Member, The Florida Bar (Trial Lawyers Section)
  • Member, American Bar Association
  • Member, Miami-Dade County Bar Association
  • Member, Coral Gables Bar Association
  • Member, Lawyer Pilots Bar Association
  • Member, Coalition for Family Safety
  • Member, American Board of Trial Advocates
  • Member, Southern Trial Lawyers Association
  • Member, National Crime Victim Bar Association

-         Board of Directors (2009 to present)

-         Recipient, Distinguished Service Award

-         Recipient, Advocate of Justice Award

  • Member, Guardian Ad Litem
  • Member, ASIS
  • Member, MADD Barristers Council
  • Member, The American Trial Lawyers Association, Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • Member, FIU President’s Council
  • Trustee, Florida Supreme Court Historical Society
  • Listed, “Best Lawyers in America”
  • Named, Florida Trend Magazine’s “Legal Elite” and “Legal Elite Hall of Fame”
  • Named, National Law Journal’s Top “40 Under 40” (2005)
  • Named, Daily Business Review’s “Most Effective Lawyer” of 2005 & 2008
  • Listed, Florida “Super Lawyers” Top 100 Lawyer
  • Named, LawDragon’s “Top 500 in the Nation”
  • Named, Florida Monthly Magazine’s “Top Lawyers in Florida”
  • Listed, Martindale-Hubbell “AV” Preemine Rated Attorney
  • Board Member, National Center for Victims of Crime
  • Board Member, National Drowning Prevention Alliance


  • Trustee, Polycystic Kidney Disease Foundation
  • Volunteer, Community Partnership for the Homeless
  • Volunteer, Habitat for Humanity
  • Member, FSU Alumni Association
  • Member, FSU College of Communication & Information Leadership Board